Winners of this year's *Financial Mail* Top Analysts Awards announced

Johannesburg, 28 July 2020: The winners of the 45th annual *Financial Mail Top Analyst Awards* were announced online on 28 July 2020. The *Financial Mail Top Analyst Awards*, in association with <u>Iress, JSE</u>, and the <u>CFA Society South Africa</u>, recognises and awards South Africa's top analysts in the institutional stock broking industry. Fifty-one awards were celebrated.

The *Financial Mail* has been associated with the *Top Analyst* survey since 1975 – and is the only survey in South Africa that provides a reliable and independent ranking of skills in the industry. The research, which is conducted by <u>Intellidex</u> is estimated to cover 90% of the institutional market through confidential questionnaires completed by domestic institutional clients of South African stockbroker firms.

Commenting on the results of this year's survey, *Financial Mail* editor Rob Rose says: "It's been a remarkably challenging period for analysts, but the market turbulence this year due to Covid-19 underscores, more than ever, just how vital their expertise is."

For the fifth consecutive year, Standard Bank SBG Securities was awarded as the Overall Top Firm.

For the third straight year, <u>RMB Morgan Stanley</u> maintained its ranking as the *Top firm – Execution: Equities Dealing*, while again claiming top spot in the *Corporate Access*, *Administration*, and *Sales Team* categories.

<u>Nedgroup Securities</u> reclaimed the number one ranking as *Top firm – Execution: Fixed Interest Securities*, an award it also received in 2018.

Legae Peresec continued for the third consecutive year as the Top firm - Execution: Derivatives.

Absa Capital's Khayelihle Mthembu was announced as the Young Analyst of the Year: Equities, while Reezwana Sumad from Nedgroup Securities won the Young Analyst of the Year: Non-equities category.

In the Small Black Broker rankings, Noah Capital Markets came out tops.

A special report on the 2020 research findings will be published in the Financial Mail on Thursday, 30 July 2020.

-ends-

Notes to Editor:

Herewith the list of categories and winners of the 2020 Financial Mail Top Analysts Awards:

Standard Bank SBG Securities		
RMB Morgan Stanley		
Nedgroup Securities		
RMB Morgan Stanley		
RMB Morgan Stanley		
RMB Morgan Stanley		
Khayelihle Mthembu (Absa Capital)		
Reezwana Sumad (Nedgroup Securities)		
Noah Capital Markets		
Analyst	Firm	
Yvonne Mhango	Renaissance Capital	
Adesoji Solanke, Dayo Ayeni, Nikolas Stefanou and Oluwatoyosi Oni	Renaissance Capital	
Stephan Potgieter	UBS South Africa	
	RMB Morgan Stanley Nedgroup Securities RMB Morgan Stanley RAB Morgan Stanley Road Stanley Road Stanley Road Stanley Khayelihle Mthembu (Absa Capital) Reezwana Sumad (Nedgroup Securities) Noah Capital Markets Analyst Yvonne Mhango Adesoji Solanke, Dayo Ayeni, Nikolas Stefanou and Oluwatoyosi Oni	

Beverages & Tobacco	Rupert Wilson	Noah Capital Markets
Commodities	Thabang Thlaku, Tim Clark and Adrian Hammond	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Computing & Electronics	Ruhan du Plessis	Avior Capital Markets
Construction, Building Materials & Machinery	Marc Ter Mors	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Credit Analysis	Kate Rushton	Rand Merchant Bank
Derivatives	Emlyn Flint, Florence Chikurunhe and Ndinae Masutha	Legae Peresec
Diversified Industrials	Munira Kharva	Nedbank
Economic analysis (domestic)	Andrea Masia	RMB Morgan Stanley
Economic analysis (international)	Mary Curtis, Ian Doyle, Jonathan Garner, Andrea Masia and Jacob Nell	RMB Morgan Stanley
Environmental, social and governance	Waseem Thokan and Rob Worthington- Smith	Legae Peresec
Financial and industrial small & medium market cap companies	Ruhan du Plessis, David Talpert and Steph Erasmus	Avior Capital Markets
Fixed-Interest Securities	Mike Keenan	Absa Capital
Food Producers	Sumil Seeraj	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Forestry & Paper	James Twyman	Prescient Securities
General Financial	David Talpert, Harry Botha and Warwick Bam	Avior Capital Markets
General Mining	Tim Clark and Thabang Thlaku	Standard Bank SBG Securities
General Retailers	Sean Holmes	RMB Morgan Stanley
Gold Mining	Adrian Hammond	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Healthcare Providers & Pharmaceuticals	Kane Slutzkin	UBS South Africa
Hotels, Travel & Leisure	lan Doyle and Jamie Pegg	RMB Morgan Stanley
Household Goods Retailers	Sean Holmes and Vikhyat Sharma	RMB Morgan Stanley
Industrial Metals	Thabang Thlaku and Tim Clark	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Innovative research	Deanne Gordon and Adele Fermoyle	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Insurance	Michael Christelis	UBS South Africa
Investment Companies	Rey Wium	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Investment Strategy	Mary Curtis	RMB Morgan Stanley
Luxury Goods	Rey Wium	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Media	Kevin Mattison and Charl Wolmarans	Avior Capital Markets
Oil & Gas and Chemicals	Adrian Hammond	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Platinum & Precious Metals	Christopher Nicholson	RMB Morgan Stanley
Political analysis	Simon Freemantle	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Quantitative Analysis	Emlyn Flint, Florence Chikurunhe and Ndinae Masutha	Legae Peresec
Real Estate	Bandile Zondo & Mweisho Nene	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Resources Small & Medium Market	Tim Clark, Thabang Thlaku & Adrian Hammond	Standard Bank SBG Securities
Cap Companies	Johann Pretorius, Steven Friedman, Kabelo Moshesha, Siphelele Mhlongo and Derick Deale	Renaissance Capital
Risk Management	Odwa Sihlobo, Nico Katzke and Charlotte van Tiddens	Prescient Securities

Technical Analysis	Neels Heyneke	Nedbank
Telecommunications	Jonathan Kennedy-Good and Preeti Sukha	Standard Bank SBG Securities

Issued by: Samantha Pugh, Pugh Public Relations & Corporate Communications e: sam@pughpr.co.za c: 071 874 5460

On behalf of: Rob Rose, editor of *Financial Mail*